The East of England Agricultural Society has been at the forefront of championing agriculture and livestock for over three centuries. With a rich history that dates back to 1797, the society was merged in 1970 to become the East of England Agricultural Society that we know today.
First established on January 10, 1797, Peterborough Agricultural Society – as it was called back then, was set up at a critical time in terms of history. During this period the ‘Industrial Revolution’ was in full swing, which sought to transform rural and agricultural processes to a more urbanised approach.
The first president of the Society, the 4th Earl Fitzwilliam was elected in 1797. The annual subscription of becoming a member was one guinea – which is about £1.05 in British pounds – and that amount remained until 1950.
A variety of groundbreaking technologies like the Telephone, Telegram and the Aeroplane made some of their earliest appearances at the Society’s Annual Shows.